13 and 14


2013 was a blast, that’s all I can say. Never in my life can I imagine all of my dreams will come true, simultaneously within 1 year like this. For sure it’s the consequence of my effort (nothing comes from the air!!!), but I must admit that I am also far more beyond lucky level.

1. An internship as a management trainee in Singapore.

I have always loved tourism and hotel management, but not in a 5-star level. Somehow I think I can only be comfortable with middle-class luxury (haha). But during that three months  in Singapore, I learnt more than the whole four years in college. Seriously. How to groom professionally (high heels! I wore that damn high heels 9 hours every day), make-up, being attractive (yes, haha, in every wink every smile, gosh). being grace, gentle conversation with guests (including gestures and tons of minor hints), being patient in every god-damn situation, work safety, carrying tray with one hand (and still look beautiful in high heels), pouring wine and beers while still look elegant, beverage and wine (though I cannot drink a single drop but I know quite much about it 😀 ), table setting, eating manner, basic barista (with the burn in my left hand), banquet serving, etc. And well, I have tried almost all the good food cooked by first class chefs of Singapore (oh I miss the Black Forest and Tiramisu 😦 ). My allowance was enough for me to buy a lot of clothes (:”>) and my little Otto (a.k.a baby NEX 5R).

2. Simacai- Lao Cai.

I met one of my travel friends after a long losting time, and decided to help him running charitable mission in Vietnam. I am myself pretty into social works, so together with Huyen and Nguyen, I found Go.See.Share – our own volunteer organization for students. In 20 days we raised VND 40mil and a truck of clothes for kids in Northern Vietnam. With the team of 10 volunteers, we had 5 days of our life having  the weirdest  experience ever ( I can even write a whole book about it). We are going to have the second campaign this January, what a pity I am not at home right now to help everyone, but they have all of my best wishes.

And it also helped me realize how complicated people can be. Of course I always know that, but  have never gone through it by myself. I have a little challenge with my own emotion, and proudly, I overcame it, “with high definition”.  I understand myself more than ever, and I know that if there is only one thing I can trust, that’s my intuition.

3. Working at UnI Advisory

In a project about building nuclear powerplant for the government. I guess it’s my fate to be stick with these nuclear stuff (T.T) A pretty high salary job, nice office, and the best thing is I can work with my elementary school, high school and college friends! For the first time ever I love to go to office, eat packed lunch and even sleep there at weekend for overtime working. Of course with my friends (haha). We have the most gorgeous view of the city in a vacant floor of the building, and so many great time strolling along the Old quarter, Hoan Kiem Lake, eating street food and discovering tiny corners of the city.

And well, I earn enough to live a pretty laid-back lifestyle (lol), and afford most of my necessary expense for traveling and studying abroad.

4. ACCEPTED

Got my big envelope from Heidelberg with a full scholarship. I don’t know how to describe that feeling, but I guess I did have a white night.

5. Peace Boat

The highlight of the year. Best of the best.

In July, leaving behind my real life, I caught a flight to Danang. I had 5 days traveling around the city and Hoi An, then from Danang port, I joined Peace Boat as a video/media reporter. We lived in a huge 5-star cruise, sailing around the world (yes, around the world, 30 countries!), all we had was blue ocean and sky. Because of the visa for Germany (I need to come back to Vietnam, and holy shiet, that visa is another story), I could only join a 1-month segment and stopped the journey in Turkey, but that was pretty enough. Sea storm, sea sick, luxurious life, star gazing, pirate zone, pool party, summer festival, meeting my fav anime director Ui (he is surprisingly friendly and we have exchanged email! As a student of Osamu Tezuka and a famous cartoonist, he gained a lot of respect from everybody on board), and especially, studying a lot about Hiroshima-Nagasaki bombing event, US-Japan relationship, and pretty much about other ( Japan) culture.  And I have a lot of good friends, who are truly funny with a Japanese spirit (:D, okay, I know I am such a Japan-holic)

I have finished a documentary (but I think it’s much like a video report haha) in both English and Vietnamese about the Hibakusha (A-bomb survivor), and well, until now I think I will stop filming for at least 6 months.

6. Grad school

After a 6-week painful waiting time (with around 30 emails), finally I got my German student visa and was in Heidelberg only 1 day before the orientation week started. Strangely, I felt very familiar with everything, and adapt quickly (only got jet lag for 1 day). I love this city, I love my classmate, I like my program, and now, after three months, I am seriously thinking of pursuing a research career. Well, at least I want to teach Literature for the Violas (!)

I have my own room now, living alone happily, and thinking of buying a bamboo steamer to make mantou.

7. France

The 10th country I set my foot on (Qatar and some transit countries are not counted haha), the sweetest anniversary a girl can have. I spent my whole one-week-before-Chrismast in Paris, Nancy and Strassbourg, to feel the French atmosphere in winter. Though it was not as fabulous as expected, I am still deeply in love with Paris (you know, 3 days cannot tell anything about the city, but I love the Parisan spirit and I found myself in it). Of course I will come back in summer 2014 (maybe spend 1 or 2 weeks living here or in any Southern province in France, and Provence for sure)

Well, my academic writing professor said we cannot write in bullet points, but who cares, I am writing in my blog anyway. So certainly I would love to make another list for my 2014.

1. Survive all the assignments and tests (oral and term paper) huhu

2. Self-study photography and guitar.

3. Buy 2 new lens for my camera. And practicing food and portrait photography. Whatever, enhance photography and photo editing skills.

4. Baking more. Cooking more. I love cooking when having no pressure.

5. Finding a part time job.

6. Studying more German. I am lazy. That’s the only excuse.

7. Go to Vans Warped Tour Germany RIGHT ON MY BIRTHDAY!!! AND MEET SIMPLE PLAN AGAIN AND HUG THEM AGAIN if possible.

8. World Cup (haha,not a big football fan, but I still love it)

9. Go to Connichi Manga-Anime Festival.

10. Travel more, of course. That’s why I need a damn part time job!

Well, so far these are my biggest goals this year. Got to revise my Geography classes now, Teehee.

My writing is still messy as usual T.T

Have some yogurt left so I decide to make an apple yogurt cake. Super fast! I love apple XD